What's On in 2017


This page lists what's on in Sandwich and a little further afield in Kent. It will be updated during the year. Information is based on best knowledge at the time of writing but we recommend you check the up-to-date situation with the relevant organisers or websites.  

Regular events

  • Sandwich Auction Room: monthly antiques and collectables auctions at St Mary's, Strand Street, Sandwich
  • Giant boot fair each Sunday (and Bank Holiday Mondays) from April through to September at Barville Farm, Tilmanstone, off the A256 Dover road.
  • Large boot fair each Sunday (and Bank Holiday Mondays) from May through to September at Drews Field, Ash, off the A257 Canterbury road.
  • Regular live music at the Hop and Huffkin, Fleur de Lis and Admiral Owen.

January

  • Wed 11 Jan: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 14 Jan and Sun 15 Jan: Antiques & Collectors Fair, County Showground, Detling
  • Tue 31 Jan: Pride and Prejudice, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury

 

 

February

  • Tue 31 Jan to Sat 4 Feb : Pride and Prejudice, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Wed 8 Feb: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Fri 17 Feb to Sun 19 Feb: Broadstairs Blues Bash
  • Sat 18 Feb to Sun 26 Feb: Rye Bay Scallop Week

March

  • Sat 4 March: Imagine the Beatles, Astor Theatre, Deal
  • Wed 8 Mar: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Fri 31/3: Frankenstein, Astor Theatre, Deal

April

May

June

  • Wed 12 Apr: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 15 to Mon17 Apr: Broadstairs Festival Spring Fair
  • Sat 22 Apr and Sun 23 Apr: Antiques & Collectors Fair, County Showground, Detling
  • Fri 28 Apr: The Troggs, Astor Theatre, Deal
  • Sat 29 Apr to Mon 1 May: Sandwich Salutes the 40s
  • Mon 1 May: Walmer Brocante, Walmer sea-front
  • Wed 10 May: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 13 and Sun 14 May: Sandwich Food Fayre
  • Tue 16 to Sat 20 May: Shirley Valentine, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Sat 20 May: Kent History Confederation Conference, 800th anniversary of the Battle of Sandwich, The Guildhall
  • Sat 27 May: Deal Classic Motor Show, Walmer sea- front
  • Sat 27 to Mon 29 May: The Beast - bouncy castle obstacle course for adults, Betteshanger Country Park
  • Sat 27 to Mon 29 May: Kent Garden Show, County Showground, Detling
  • Sun 4 Jun: The Little Gardens of Sandwich
  • Tue 6 to Sat 10 Jun: Death of a Salesman, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Sat 10 and Sun 11 Jun: Le Weekend, Sandwich
  • Wed 14 Jun: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 17 to Fri 23 Jun: Broadstairs Dickens Festival
  • Sat 17 Jun and Sun 18 Jun: Antiques & Collectors Fair, County Showground, Detling
  • Mon 19 to Sat 24 Jun: Jane Eyre, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Mon 19 to Sat 24Jun: Royal & Ancient Amateur Golf Championship, St George's and Princes Golf Clubs
  • Sat 17 Jun (TBC): Dover Regatta

 

July

August

September

  • Fri 30 Jun to Sun 16 Jul: Deal Festival of Music and the Arts
  • Fri 7 to Sun 9 Jul: Sandwich Folk & Ale Festival
  • Fri 7 to Sun 9 Jul: Kent County Show, Kent Showground, Detling
  • Sat 8 Jul: Open Air Classical Concert, Leeds Castle, near Maidstone
  • Tue 11 to Tue 18 Jul: Broadstairs Folk Week
  • Wed 12 Jul: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 22 to Mon 24 Jul: Whitstable Oyster Festival
  • Tue 25 to Sat 29 Jul: War & Peace Revival, Folkestone Racecourse
  • Mon 24 Jul to Fri 28 Jul: Ramsgate Week and Annual Regatta
  • Fri 28 to Mon 31 Jul: Kent VW Festival, Sandwich Showground
  • Wed 2 Aug: Broadstairs Fireworks, Viking Bay
  • Sun 6 Aug: Margate Carnival
  • Wed 9 Aug: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 12 Aug: Walmer Picnic on the Green
  • Sun 13 Aug: Classic Motorcycle Display, Deal Pier
  • Sat 19 Aug: South East Air Show, Herne Bay 
  • Wed 23 Aug: Broadstairs Water Gala and  Broadstairs Fireworks, Viking Bay
  • Fri 25 to Mon 28 Aug: Sandwich Festival
  • Sat 26 Aug: Jane Austin's "Emma", Goodnestone Park Gardens
  • Sat 26 Aug to Mon 28 Aug: Military Odyssey, County Showground, Detling
  • Sat 2 Sep and Sun 3 Sep: Antiques & Collectors Fair, County Showground, Detling
  • Wed 13 Sep: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Fri 15 Sep to Sat 14 Oct: War Horse, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Sat 16 Sep and Sun 17 Sep: Paws in the Park, County Showground, Detling
  • Sat 16 to Sat 23 Sep: Sandwich Arts Week
  • Sun 17 Sep: Deal Braderie, High Street, Deal
  • Fri 29 Sep: Only Fools and Boycie, Astor Theatre, Deal
  • Fri 29 Sep to Sun 1 Oct: Broadstairs Food Festival

October

  • Fri 29 Sep to Sun 1 Oct: Broadstairs Food Festival
  • Fri 15 Sep to Sat 14 Oct: War Horse, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury
  • Wed 11 Oct: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Sat 14 Oct to Sat 4 Nov: Canterbury Festival

November

  • Wed 8 Nov: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich

December

  • Sat 2 Dec: Sandwich Christmas Lights Carnival
  • Wed 6 Dec: Antiques & Collectables Auction, St Mary's, Sandwich
  • Thu 14 Dec: Faulty Towers Dining Experience, Gulbenkian Theatre, Canterbury
  • TBA: King Street Xmas Party, King St, Sandwich - with snow machines and street entertainment.